Tuesday, December 22, 2020

Hall of Fame Planning Two Separate Enshrinement Ceremonies in 2021 Calendar Year


SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame today announced the list of eligible candidates for the Class of 2021, including first-time nominees Doug Collins, Michael Cooper, Howard Garfinkel, Lou Henson, Paul Pierce, Val Ackerman, Yolanda Griffith and Lauren Jackson.

Returning to the ballot are fan-favorite nominees Chauncey Billups, Chris Bosh, Richard Hamilton, Bob Huggins, Ben Wallace, Chris Webber, Jay Wright, Swin Cash and Becky Hammon among others.                                                                                                                                                                            

A first look at the list of eligible nominees was provided by The Jump on ESPN, hosted by Rachel Nichols, and Class of 2021 nominee Paul Pierce. A complete list of eligible candidates can be found below.

Following the Hall of Fame’s traditional timeline, Finalists from the North American and Women’s committee for the Class of 2021 will be announced in the timeframe of NBA All-Star Weekend, which is scheduled for early March. The entire Class of 2021, including those selected by the direct elect committees, will be unveiled in the timeframe of the NCAA Final Four scheduled for early April. Event details are forthcoming, and the announcement timeline is subject to change.

The Class of 2021 Enshrinement ceremony is scheduled to take place in Springfield, Mass., in September 2021. As previously announced, the Class of 2020 Enshrinement ceremony has been rescheduled and relocated due to COVID-19 and is scheduled for May 13-15, 2021 at Mohegan Sun.

Tickets for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2020 and 2021 Enshrinement ceremonies and various events surrounding the ceremonies will be on-sale at a later date. For the latest news and updates, follow @hoophall on Twitter and Instagram.


About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame: Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo "Court of Dreams." Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum and events, visit www.hoophall.com, follow @hoophall #21HoopClass or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.


Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2021 Ballot

* Indicates First-Time Nominee


North American Committee Nominations

Rick Adelman (COA)

Ken Anderson (COA)*

Fletcher Arritt (COA)

Johnny Bach (COA)

Gene Bess (COA)

Chauncey Billups (PLA)

Chris Bosh (PLA)

Rick Byrd (COA)

Muggsy Bogues (PLA)

Irv Brown (REF)

Jim Burch (REF)

Marcus Camby (PLA)

Michael Cooper (PLA)*

Jack Curran (COA)

Mark Eaton (PLA)

Cliff Ellis (COA)

Dale Ellis (PLA)

Hugh Evans (REF)

Michael Finley (PLA)

Steve Fisher (COA)

Cotton Fitzsimmons (COA)

Leonard Hamilton (COA)*

Richard Hamilton (PLA)

Tim Hardaway (PLA)

Lou Henson (COA)*

Ed Hightower (REF)

Bob Huggins (COA)

Mark Jackson (PLA)

Herman Johnson (COA)

Marques Johnson (PLA)

George Karl (COA)

Gene Keady (COA)

Ken Kern (COA)

Shawn Marion (PLA)

Rollie Massimino (COA)

Bob McKillop (COA)

Danny Miles (COA)

Steve Moore (COA)

Speedy Morris (COA)

Dick Motta (COA)

Jake O’Donnell (REF)

Jim Phelan (COA)

Digger Phelps (COA)

Paul Pierce (PLA)*

Jere Quinn (COA)

Lamont Robinson (PLA)

Bo Ryan (COA)

Bob Saulsbury (COA)

Norm Sloan (COA)

Ben Wallace (PLA)

Chris Webber (PLA)

Willie West (COA)

Buck Williams (PLA)

Jay Wright (COA)

Paul Westhead (COA)*


Women’s Committee Nominations

Leta Andrews (COA)

Jennifer Azzi (PLA)

Swin Cash (PLA)

Yolanda Griffith (PLA)*

Becky Hammon (PLA)

Lauren Jackson (PLA)*

Suzie McConnell (PLA)

Debbie Miller-Palmore (PLA)

Kim Mulkey (PLA)

Marianne Stanley (COA)

Valerie Still (PLA)

Marian Washington (COA)


DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY: Contributor Committee Nominations

Val Ackerman*

Marv Albert

Dick Baumgartner

Bill Bertka

Henry Bibby

Marty Blake

Vic Bubas

Doug Collins*

Wayne Duke

Lou Dunbar

Bill Foster

Howard Garfinkel*

Harry Glickman

Marty Glickman

Simon Gourdine

Curt Gowdy

Tim Grgurich

Del Harris

Greg Heineman

Robert Indiana

Johnny “Red” Kerr

Bill King

John Kline

Red Klotz

Tom Konchalski*

Bobby Lewis

Herbert Livsey

Jack McCloskey

Jerry McHale

Johnny Most

Dennis Murphy

Joe O’Toole

Billy Packer

Jack Powers

Dee Rowe

Sam Schulman*

Zelda Spoelstra

Jim Valvano

Donnie Walsh

Jerome Williams


DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY: Early African-American Pioneers Committee Nominations

Clarence “Puggy” Bell

Sonny Boswell

Bill Garrett

Inman Jackson

Clarence “Fats” Jenkins

Harry “Bucky” Lew

Davage “Dave” Minor

Hudson Oliver

Al “Runt” Pullins

James “Pappy” Ricks

Paul Robeson

Eyre Saitch

William “Wee Willie” Smith


DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY: International Committee Nominations

Tal Brody

Jacky Chazalon

Alphonso Ford

Giuseppe Giergia

Dusan Ivkovic*

Semen Khalipski

Vladimir Kondrashin

Toni Kukoc

Eduardo Lamas*

Marcos Leite

Shimon Mizrahi

Aldo Ossola

Amaury Pasos

Dan Peterson

Manuel Sainz

Togo Soares

Ranko Zeravica


DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY: Veterans Committee Nominations

 1936 US Olympic Team (TEA)

1964 State Department Basketball Ambassadors (TEA)

1965 World University Games Team (TEA)

Tom Blackburn (COA)

Ron Boone (PLA)

Sid Borgia (REF)

Frank Brian (PLA)          

Joe Caldwell (PLA)

Mack Calvin (PLA)

Darel Carrier (PLA)

Jack Coleman (PLA)

Bob Dandridge (PLA)

Charles Eckman (REF)

Leroy Edwards (PLA)

Leo Ferris (CONT)

Clarence “Bevo” Francis (PLA)

Buck Freeman (COA)

Donnie Freeman (PLA)

Hy Gotkin (PLA)*

Travis Grant (PLA)

Bob Grody (PLA)

Robert Harrison (PLA)

Flo Harvey (PLA)

Dick Hemric (PLA)

Cam Henderson (COA)

Robert Hopkins (PLA)

Lou Hudson (PLA)

Warren Jabali (PLA)

Jimmy Jones (PLA)

Charles Keinath (PLA)

Kentucky Wesleyan 1966, 1968, 1969 (TEA)

Freddie Lewis (PLA)

Jim Loscutoff (PLA)

Loyola of Chicago (TEA)

Billy Markward (CONT)

Ed McCluskey (COA)

Ray Mears (COA)

Francis Meehan (PLA)

Lucias Mitchell (COA)*

Donald “Dudey” Moore (COA)

Willie Naulls (PLA)

North Catholic HS JV (Philadelphia, PA) (TEA)*

Philadelphia SPHAS (TEA)

Mel Riebe (PLA)

Glenn Roberts (PLA)

Holcombe Rucker (CONT)

Kenny Sailors (PLA)

Fred Schaus (CONT)

Sam Schulman (CONT)*

Kenny Sears (PLA)

Frank Selvy (PLA)

George Senesky (PLA)

Paul Seymour (PLA)

Charles Siler (CONT)

Talvin Skinner (PLA)

Elmore Smith (PLA)*

Ken Suesens (PLA)

Dick Van Arsdale (PLA)

Tom Van Arsdale (PLA)

Perry Wallace (PLA)

Frank Walsh (CONT)

Willie Wise (PLA)

Max Zaslofsky (PLA)


DIRECT-ELECT CATEGORY: Women Veterans Committee Nominations

Alline Banks Sprouse (PLA)

Edmonton Commercial Grads (TEA)

John Head (COA)

Pearl Moore (PLA)

Nashville Business College (TEA)

Lometa Odom (PLA)

Harley Redin (COA)

Theresa Shank (PLA)

Hazel Walker (PLA)