Thursday, February 04, 2016

Basketball Hall of Fame to Announce Top Five Power Forwards in Early March

SPRINGFIELD, MASS. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the ten watch list finalists for the 2016 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award. Named after Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor in its second year recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates in October, which has now been narrowed to just ten.

“In terms of power forwards who have had a significant impact on the game of basketball, Karl Malone is at the top of the list,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “When it comes to consistent play, ‘The Mailman’ always delivered and we are delighted to include him in this recognition of the best power forwards in the game today.”

Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland honors in his three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. Malone achieved great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA All-Star (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time All-NBA First Team player (1989-99) and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team. He also won two Olympic gold medals (1992, 1996) and is a 2010 inductee of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee for the 2016 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award.  The winner of the 2016 Karl Malone Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s from Club Nokia in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 8, 2016. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Last season, Montrezl Harrell of Louisville was named the inaugural winner of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award. For more information on the 2016 Karl Malone Award, log onto


2016 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Finalists 

Ryan Anderson, Arizona

Taurean Prince, Baylor

Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga

Georges Niang, Iowa State

Perry Ellis, Kansas

Shawn Long, Louisiana-Lafayette

Henry Ellenson, Marquette

Pascal Siakam, New Mexico State 

Brice Johnson, North Carolina

Jameel Warney, Stony Brook

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2015-16 season*


About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame: Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.

For more information:
Visit us on the web: or 
Twitter/Instagram: @hoophall #MaloneAward #CBBAwards
 OR call 1-877-4-HOOPLA