Friday, March 08, 2024

- Fan Voting, Presented by Dell Technologies, Starts Today -


SPRINGFIELD, MASS. — The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced the five finalists for the 2024 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award and, in partnership with the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), the five finalists for the 2024 Lisa Leslie Award. 


The annual Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award, named after the Class of 1995 Hall of Famer and three-time NCAA Champion, celebrates its 10th year by honoring the top centers in Division I men’s college basketball.


The Lisa Leslie Award, in its seventh year, recognizes the top centers in Division I women’s college basketball. It is named after the three-time All-American, 1994 National Player of the Year, and Class of 2015 Hall of Famer. 


2024 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award Finalists

2024 Lisa Leslie Award Finalists

PJ Hall


Mackenzie Holmes


Ryan Kalkbrenner


Raegan Beers

Oregon State

Hunter Dickinson


Kamilla Cardoso

South Carolina

Armando Bacot

North Carolina

Cameron Brink


Zach Edey


Elizabeth Kitley

Virginia Tech


Fans can support their favorite player by participating in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, starting today on The Fan Vote will count as one committee vote during the finalist selection process.


Later this month, the finalists will be presented to Abdul-Jabbar and Leslie and the Hall of Fame’s selection committees. The Selection Committees for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Lisa Leslie Awards are composed of top men’s and women’s college basketball personnel, including media members, head coaches, sports information directors, and Hall of Famers.


The winner of the 2024 Abdul-Jabbar and Leslie Awards will be presented on a to-be-determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s and Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy and Nancy Lieberman Awards (Point Guard), Jerry West and Ann Meyers Drysdale Awards (Shooting Guard), Julius Erving and Cheryl Miller Awards (Small Forward), and the Karl Malone and Katrina McClain Awards (Power Forward).


Previous winners of the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award are Zach Edey, Purdue (2023), Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky (2022), Luka Garza, Iowa (2020-21), Ethan Happ, Wisconsin (2019), Angel Delgado, Seton Hall (2018), Przemek Karnowski, Gonzaga (2017), Jakob Poeltl, Utah (2016), and Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin (2015).

Previous winners of the Lisa Leslie Award are Aliyah Boston, South Carolina (2020-23), Megan Gustafson, Iowa (2019), and A’ja WilsonSouth Carolina (2018).


For more information on the 2024 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Lisa Leslie Awards and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophall, #KareemAward, and #LeslieAward on X (formerly Twitter) and Instagram.


About the WBCA

Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers, and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to those organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players, and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. For more information, visit us online:, follow @wbca1981, or call 1-770-279-8027.


About the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame 

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving, and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches, and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo "Court of Dreams." Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum, and events, visit, follow @hoophall, or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.