Sunday, March 13, 2016

Winner to be Announced at Women’s Final Four in Indianapolis

SPRINGFIELD, MASS. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the five finalists for the 2016 Nancy Lieberman Award. Named after the Hall of Famer, three-time All-American and two-time National Champion at Old Dominion University, the annual honor now in its sixteenth year recognizes the top point guards in Division I women’s college basketball.

To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates must exhibit the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills of the award’s namesake. A national committee of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers narrowed the original award watch list from 10 to five.

“The level of play in women’s college basketball this season has been outstanding, which made the selection committee’s task extremely difficult,” said Lieberman. “These five point guards are the best of the best and I look forward to watching them lead their teams in the tournament.”

“The Nancy Lieberman Award finalists are in tremendous company with many legends of the game,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “These women have proven themselves as standout student-athletes and leaders. We wish them well as they head into postseason play.”

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut (2015), Odyssey Sims, Baylor (2014), Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame (2012-13), Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga (2011), Andrea Riley, Oklahoma State (2010), Renee Montgomery, Connecticut (2009), Kristi Toliver, Maryland (2008), Lindsey Harding, Duke (2007), Ivory Latta, North Carolina (2006), Temeka Johnson, LSU (2005),Diana Taurasi, Connecticut (2003-04), and Sue Bird, Connecticut (2000-02).

The 2016 Lieberman Award winner will be announced during the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Award Show in Indianapolis, Indiana at the Women’s Final Four. For more information on the 2016 Nancy Lieberman Award, log onto


2016 Nancy Lieberman Award Finalists

Niya Johnson, Baylor

Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut

Brene Moseley, Maryland

Lindsay Allen, Notre Dame

Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State


About Nancy Lieberman: Nancy "Lady Magic" Lieberman is a true pioneer in women's sports. Her extensive resume includes Assistant Coach of the NBA's Sacramento Kings, head coach of the Texas Legends of the NBA D-League, WNBA player and coach, general manager, sports broadcaster for ABC, NBC, ESPN, and FOX Sports Southwest, motivational speaker, and author. In addition, Nancy Lieberman is a Basketball Hall of Famer, two-time Olympian, three-time All American, two-time collegiate national champion and a two-time National Player of the Year at Old Dominion University. She is also the founder of Nancy Lieberman Charities and Basketball Camps. For more information visit

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame: Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.

For more information:
Visit us on the web: 
Twitter/Instagram: @hoophall #LiebermanAward
 OR call 1-877-4-HOOPLA