Wednesday, March 08, 2023

- Fan Voting, Presented by Dell Technologies, Starts Friday, March 10 -


SPRINGFIELD, MASS.  — The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced the five finalists for the 2023 Julius Erving Award. 


Named after Class of 1993 Hall of Famer and 16-year professional basketball player Julius Erving, the annual honor in its ninth year recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. 


2023 Julius Erving Award Finalists 

Brandon Miller


Julian Strawther


Jalen Wilson


Keyontae Johnson

Kansas State

Jaime Jaquez Jr.



Fans can support their favorite player by participating in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, starting Friday, March 10, on The Fan Vote will count as one committee vote during the finalist selection process.


This month, the finalists will be presented to Erving and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Selection Committee for the Julius Erving Award is composed of top men’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.


The winner of the 2023 Julius Erving Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Award (Point Guard), Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard), Karl Malone Award (Power Forward) and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center), in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.


Previous winners of the Julius Erving Award are Wendell Moore Jr, Duke (2022), Corey Kispert, Gonzaga (2021), Saddiq Bey, Villanova (2020), Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga(2019), Mikal Bridges, Villanova (2018), Josh Hart, Villanova (2017), Denzel Valentine, Michigan State (2016) and Stanley Johnson, Arizona (2015).

For more information on the 2023 Julius Erving Award and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophall and #ErvingAward on Twitter and Instagram. 



About the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame 

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving, and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches, and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo "Court of Dreams." Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum, and events, visit, follow @hoophall and or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.