Tuesday, October 22, 2013

Springfield, Mass. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the watch list of candidates for the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. This list was created by a committee of well-respected media members and influential people within college basketball from around the country.

“The Hall of Fame is proud to work with Mr. Cousy and honor the best point guards playing in college basketball right now,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “This list represents some of the top student athletes from across the country. We are truly honored to be apart of this award.”

“The Bob Cousy Award promotes the values of leadership, determination, and teamwork, all skills needed not only on the hardwood but also in life,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). “Mr. Cousy exemplified all of these traits, and continues to be an inspiration to basketball players on and off the court.”

This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 in early February, then final five by early March. A premier Selection Committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. This committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including members of the media, head coaches, media relations contacts and Hall of Famers. The Cousy Award winner will be presented the award on Championship Monday in Dallas at the Hall of Fame's Class of 2014 Announcement and Press Conference.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut), Kendall Marshall (North Carolina) and last year’s recipient Trey Burke (Michigan). For more information on the 2014 Bob Cousy, log onto www.CousyAward.com.

2014 Bob Cousy Award Watch List

Player Name                                 School Name

Trevor Releford                               University of Alabama

TJ McConnell                                  University of Arizona

Jahii Carson                                   Arizona State University

Derrick Marks                                Boise State University

Walt Lemon, Jr.                             Bradley University

Justin Cobbs                                  University of California

Kyle Anderson                               UCLA

Billy Baron                                    Canisius College

Spencer Dinwiddie                         University of Colorado

Shabazz Napier                              University of Connecticut

Quinn Cook                                   Duke University

Brett Comer                                  Florida Gulf Coast University

Kasey Hill                                      University of Florida

Devon Bookert                              Florida State University

Markel Starks                                Georgetown University

Kevin Pangos                                Gonzaga University

Keifer Sykes                                  Green Bay

Siyani Chambers                           Harvard University

Brandyn Curry                              Harvard University

Yogi Ferrell                                    Indiana University

Jake Odum                                    Indiana State University

DeAndre Kane                                Iowa State University

Andrew Harrison                            University of Kentucky

Tyreek Duren                                 LaSalle University

Elfrid Payton                                  University of Louisiana - Lafayette 

Jason Brickman                              LIU - Brooklyn

Anthony Ireland                             Loyola Marymount University

Chris Jones                                    University of Louisville

Chaz Williams                                University of Massachusetts

Michael Dixon                                University of Memphis

Joe Jackson                                   University of Memphis

Keith Appling                                 Michigan State University

Jordan Clarkson                             University of Missouri

Kendall Williams                            University of New Mexico

Marcus Paige                                 University of North Carolina

Eric Atkins                                     University of Notre Dame

Aaron Craft                                    Ohio State University

Marcus Smart                                Oklahoma State University

Dominic Artis                                 University of Oregon

Tim Frazier                                    Penn State University

Kris Dunn                                      Providence College

Tyler Ennis                                    Syracuse University

Preston Medlin                               Utah State University

Ryan Arcidiacono                           Villanova University

Nigel Williams-Goss                        University of Washington

Semaj Christon                              Xavier University

Kendrick Perry                               Youngstown St. University


*This list is fluid – players can play their way onto and off of the Watch List and the Final 20*

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.
For more information:
Visit us on the web: www.cousyaward.com
… on Twitter: @hoophall #CousyAward
… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA