Thursday, October 26, 2023

- Starting Five Fan Voting, Presented by Dell Technologies, Begins Friday, October 27 -


SPRINGFIELD, MASS. — The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced the 20 watch-list members for the 2024 Karl Malone Award. Named after Class of 2010 Hall of Famer and two-time NBA Most Valuable Player Karl Malone, the annual honor, in its 10th year, recognizes the top power forwards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates. 


“We are proud to recognize this group of student-athletes as the best power forwards in the collegiate game this season,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. “To be named to the watchlist of the Karl Malone Award is a great honor, and we are excited to have Karl’s unique perspective alongside our selection committee each year.”


2024 Karl Malone Award Candidates* 

Enrique Freeman 


Coleman Hawkins


Grant Nelson


Oso Ighodaro


Keshad Johnson 


Julian Reese


Trevon Brazile


Norchad Omier

Miami (Fla.)

Fousseyni Traore


Tolu Smith

Mississippi State

Tristan da Silva


Jevon Porter


DaRon Holmes II


Bryce Hopkins


Kyle Filipowski


Adem Bona


Graham Ike


Alex Karaban


J’Wan Roberts


Drew Pember

UNC Asheville 

 *Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2023-24 season*


Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds beginning Friday, October 27. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2024 Karl Malone Award will be narrowed to 10, and then in late February, to just five. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee, where a winner will be selected. 


The winner of the 2024 Karl Malone Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Award (Point Guard), Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard), Julius Erving Award (Small Forward), and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award (Center), in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.


Previous winners of the Karl Malone Award are Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana (2023), Keegan Murray, Iowa (2022), Drew Timme, Gonzaga (2021), Obi Toppin, Dayton (2020), Zion Williamson, Duke (2019), Deandre Ayton, Arizona (2018), Johnathan Motley, Baylor (2017), Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015). 


For more information on the 2024 Karl Malone Award and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophallu and #MaloneAward on X (formally Twitter) and Instagram. 


About Karl Malone

Karl Malone attended Louisiana Tech University due to its close proximity to his hometown of Summerfield, Louisiana. He led the Bulldogs to a Sweet 16 appearance and earned All-Southland honors in his three seasons while averaging 18.7 points and 9.3 rebounds per game. Malone achieved great success during his 19 seasons in the NBA as a 14-time NBA All-Star (1988-98, 2000-02), 11-time All-NBA First Team player (1989-99) and a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team and was listed as one of the league’s 75 greatest players in 2021. He also won two Olympic gold medals (1992, ‘96).


About the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame 

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo "Court of Dreams." Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum and events, visit, follow @hoophall or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.