Monday, March 04, 2024

- Fan Voting, Presented by Dell Technologies, Starts Friday, March 8 -


SPRINGFIELD, MASS. — The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced the five finalists for the 2024 Bob Cousy Award and, in partnership with the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA), the five finalists for the 2024 Nancy Lieberman Award.


The annual Bob Cousy Award, named after the Class of 1971 Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard, celebrates its 21st year by highlighting the top point guard in Division I men’s college basketball. 


Now in its 25th year, the Nancy Lieberman Award recognizes the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates must exhibit the floor leadership, playmaking, and ball-handling skills of Class of 1996 Hall-of-Famer Nancy Lieberman. 


2024 Bob Cousy Award Finalists

2024 Nancy Lieberman Award Finalists

Mark Sears


Caitlin Clark


Jamal Shead


Hannah Hidalgo

Notre Dame

Tyler Kolek


Jacy Sheldon

Ohio State

Braden Smith


Te-Hina Paopao

South Carolina

Tristen Newton


Georgia Amoore

Virginia Tech


Fans can support their favorite player by participating in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, starting Friday, March 8, on The Fan Vote will count as one committee vote during the finalist selection process.


Later this month, the finalists will be presented to Cousy and Lieberman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committees. The Selection Committees for the Bob Cousy and Nancy Lieberman Awards are composed of top men’s and women’s college basketball personnel, including media members, head coaches, sports information directors, and Hall of Famers. 


The winners of the 2024 Cousy and Lieberman Awards will be presented on a to-be-determined date, along with the four other members of the Men’s and Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Jerry West and Ann Meyers Drysdale Awards (Shooting Guard), Julius Erving and Cheryl Miller Awards (Small Forward), Karl Malone and Katrina McClain Awards (Power Forward), and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Lisa Leslie Awards (Center). 


Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Markquis Nowell, Kansas State (2023), Collin Gillespie, Villanova (2022), Ayo Dosunmu, Illinois (2021), Ja Morant, Murray State (2019), Jalen Brunson, Villanova (2018), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004). 


Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include Caitlin Clark, Iowa (2022-23), Paige Bueckers, UConn (2021), Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon (2018-20), Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame (2012-13), Diana Taurasi, Connecticut (2003-04) and Sue Bird, Connecticut (2000-02).


For more information on the 2024 Bob Cousy and Nancy Lieberman Awards and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophall, #CousyAward, and #LiebermanAward on X (formerly Twitter) and Instagram.


About the WBCA: 

Founded in 1981, the Women's Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women's and girls' basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to those organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. For more information, visit us online:, follow @wbca1981or call 1-770-279-8027.


About the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame: 

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving, and celebrating the game of basketball at every level—men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches, and contributors—both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits, and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo "Court of Dreams." Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum, and events, visit, follow @hoophallor call 1-877-4HOOPLA.