Monday, March 07, 2016

Fan Voting to Open Friday, March 11 on

SPRINGFIELD, MA – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the five finalists for the2016 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross. Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its thirteenth year recognizes the top point guards in men’s division one college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel narrowed the original watch list of 20 candidates down to 10 and now the final five.

“With dozens of elite college point guards in the game today, it’s no easy task to trim this list to just five finalists,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). “As a committee, we consider who these young men are on-and-off the court and what they bring to their teams. The final five student-athletes in consideration for this award are in tremendous company and we wish them well as they head into the postseason.”

“The Cousy Award is about more than just athletic ability; it’s about leadership, perseverance and the many attributes that made Mr. Cousy a basketball icon,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “These five finalists have proven they are deserving of this prestigious award by exhibiting these traits throughout the 2015-16 season. We encourage fans to show their support of their favorite finalist by voting online.”

The winner of the 2016 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee.Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes March 11-25.

The winner of the 2016 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross will be awarded at ESPN’sCollege Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s from Club Nokia in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 8, 2016. The Awards will be televised live on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. EST. 

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004).


2016 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross Finalists 

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana

Monte Morris, Iowa State

Tyler Ulis, Kentucky

Kay Felder, Oakland

Kris Dunn, Providence


About College of the Holy Cross:

Located in Worcester, Mass., Holy Cross is among the nation's leading liberal arts institutions. A highly selective, four-year, exclusively undergraduate college of 2,900 students, Holy Cross is renowned for offering a rigorous, personalized education in the Jesuit, Catholic tradition.  Since its founding in 1843, Holy Cross has made a positive impact in society by graduating students who distinguish themselves as thoughtful leaders in business, professional and civic life.

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.


For more information:
Visit us on the web: or 
Twitter/Instagram: @hoophall #CousyAward
 OR call 1-877-4-HOOPLA