Tuesday, June 06, 2023

- Class of 2023 will be Enshrined on Saturday, August 12, in Springfield, Mass. -


SPRINGFIELD, MASS. (June 6, 2023) – The Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame announced additional details, including start times for key events, regarding the Class of 2023 Enshrinement Weekend. The Class of 2023 celebration will culminate with the Enshrinement Ceremony on Saturday, August 12, in Springfield, Mass. – the Birthplace of Basketball. The Class was revealed in April and includes a total of 12 honorees. 

Enshrinement Weekend will begin at Mohegan Sun on Friday, August 11, with the headlining Tip-Off Celebration and Awards Gala. The Class of 2023 and over 50 returning Hall of Famers will then journey to Springfield, Mass. for the annual celebratory events taking place at the recently opened Marriott as well as Springfield’s Symphony Hall.  Fans and guests are also encouraged to tour and visit the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame on Enshrinement Weekend.  

Details of the schedule of events for Enshrinement 2023 are as follows: 


Friday, August 11

Class of 2023 Autograph Session at Mohegan Sun (Uncasville, Conn.) 

11:00 AM

Meet the Class of 2023 at their first public Enshrinement Weekend event! A ticket to this event will give you the opportunity to receive one autograph per class member. 


Enshrinement 2023 Press Conference Media Availability at Mohegan Sun 

2:00 PM 

The official media availability for the Hall of Fame Class of 2023. This availability is only open to credentialed members of the media, along with VIP Package ticket holders and will be held at Mohegan Sun. The press conference will be televised by NBA TV. 


Enshrinement Tip-Off Celebration and Awards Gala at Mohegan Sun

5:30–7:30 PM: Reception

8:00–10:00 PM: Gala Program

The Class of 2023, along with the Hall’s prestigious annual award winners, will be celebrated at this televised Enshrinement event at Mohegan Sun. This event will include the unveiling of the Class of 2023 rings, presented by Baron Championship Rings, and the awarding of the Class of 2023 Hall of Fame jackets, provided by Reveal Suits. The program will additionally highlight the presentation of the Hall's annual John Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award, the Mannie Jackson: Basketball's Human Spirit Award, and the Curt Gowdy Media Awards.


Saturday, August 12

Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Museum Hours

10:00 AM–5:00 PM


Enshrinement Ceremony Reception at the Marriott Springfield Downtown (Springfield, Mass.)

5:00–7:00 PM

Toast the incoming Hall of Fame Class of 2023 at the brand new Marriott’s rooftop prior to the sport’s ultimate recognition. The party is limited to those select ticket holders for the Enshrinement Ceremony.


Enshrinement Ceremony Red Carpet Show at Symphony Hall (Springfield, Mass.)

7:00–8:00 PM 

The Class of 2023, returning Hall of Famers, as well as many of the sport’s icons walk the red carpet in a live television broadcast by NBA TV outside Symphony Hall. 


Enshrinement Ceremony at Symphony Hall 

8:00–11:00 PM 

One of the most elite nights on the basketball calendar each year, the Hall of Fame Class of 2023 will be formally enshrined into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in a nationally televised ceremony on NBA TV. The stars of basketball all come together to celebrate the next group of the sport’s iconic figures. 


NBATV will have live and exclusive coverage of Enshrinement 2023 and more details will be available at a later date.  For more information and the latest updates, visit hoophall.com/events/enshrinement-2023/ or follow @hoophall on Twitter and Instagram. 


The Class of 2023:

North American Committee inductees (in alphabetical order):

Gene Bess – All-time winningest college coach (1,300), 2-time NJCAA Coach of the Year

Pau Gasol – 6-time All-Star, 2-time NBA champion, 2002 Rookie of the Year

David Hixon – 826 wins, 2-time D3 national champion, 2-time D3 Coach of the Year

Gene Keady – 6-time NCAA Coach of the Year, 17 NCAA Tournament appearances

Dirk Nowitzki – 14-time All-Star, 2006-07 MVP, 2011 NBA Champion

Tony Parker - 6-time All-Star, 4-time NBA champion, 2007 Finals MVP

Gregg Popovich – Winningest NBA coach, 3-time NBA Coach of the Year, 5-time NBA champion

Dwyane Wade – 13-time All-Star, 3-time NBA champion, 2006 Finals MVP


Women’s Committee inductees (in alphabetical order):

Gary Blair – 852 wins, 2011 National Champion, 2-time Final Four participant

Becky Hammon – 6-time WNBA All-Star, 2-time First-Team All-WNBA recipient


Direct Elect Committee inductees (in alphabetical order):

1976 Women’s Olympic Basketball Team (Women’s Veterans) – Silver medalists in inaugural appearance for Women’s Olympic Basketball

Jim Valvano (Contributor) – 1983 NCAA Champion, created The V Foundation for Cancer Research


Curt Gowdy Award Winners (in alphabetical order):

Holly Rowe – Electronic Media Award Winner

Marc Spears – Print Media Award Winner

CBS Sports – Transformative Media Award Winner


John Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award Winner:

Tom Konchalski


About the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was born, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame is an independent non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting, preserving, and celebrating the game of basketball at every level – men and women, amateur and professional players, coaches and contributors, both domestically and internationally. The Hall of Fame museum is home to more than 400 inductees and over 40,000 square feet of basketball history. Nearly 200,000 people visit the Hall of Fame museum each year to learn about the game, experience the interactive exhibits and test their skills on the Jerry Colangelo "Court of Dreams." Best known for its annual marquee Enshrinement Ceremony honoring the game’s elite, the Hall of Fame also operates over 70 high school and collegiate competitions annually throughout the country and abroad. For more information on the Basketball Hall of Fame organization, its museum, and events, visit hoophall.com, follow @hoophall or call 1-877-4HOOPLA.