Skip to main content Search this website
The Vault will open to the public on May 31st at 1pm
Mobile navigation toggle icon
Photo of 1972-73-74 Immaculata College

1972-73-74 Immaculata College

In the early 1970s, the Mighty Macs of Immaculata College ushered in the modern era of women’s athletics. Hall of Fame coach Cathy Rush – underpaid, underappreciated, and just a few years older than her players – built the first dynasty in women’s college basketball on the campus of a small suburban school that lacked a homecourt, athletic scholarships, and even the most basic of equipment. In the spring of 1972, still a few months before the passage of Title IX, Immaculata College won the first of three consecutive Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women national championships. The following season the Mighty Macs went undefeated. The third season saw Immaculata extend her winning streak to 35 games, and with a 68-53 win over Mississippi College, the Macs claimed their third national championship. Led by three-time All-America Theresa Shank and two-time All-America Marianne Crawford, the Macs featured a balanced attack that also featured players like Mary Scharff, Rene Muth, and Judy Marra.



Team Stats

3x AIAW National Championships (1972, 1973, 1974)
35 consecutive games won
60 Games won in three seasons, losing only two times