Monday, March 13, 2017

Winner to be Announced at Women's Final Four in Dallas

SPRINGFIELD, MASS. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the five finalists for the 2017 Nancy Lieberman Award. Named after the Hall of Famer, three-time All-American and two-time National Champion at Old Dominion University, the annual honor now in its eighteenth year recognizes the top point guards in Division I women’s college basketball.

To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates must exhibit the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills of the award’s namesake. A national committee of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers narrowed the original award watch list from 10 to five.

“I am very honored to have my name associated with this award and the best point guards in college basketball,” Lieberman said. “Over the years, we have honored many deserving floor generals and I’m anxious to see who comes out on top this season!”

“The five young women selected as finalists for the Lieberman Award are remarkable student-athletes who should be very proud of all they have accomplished,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “As we head into postseason play, we expect to see these players proving why they have been selected and leading their teams toward the goal of a national championship.”

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut (2015-16), Odyssey Sims, Baylor (2014), Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame (2012-13), Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga (2011), Andrea Riley, Oklahoma State (2010), Renee Montgomery, Connecticut (2009), Kristi Toliver, Maryland (2008), Lindsey Harding, Duke (2007), Ivory Latta, North Carolina (2006), Temeka Johnson, LSU (2005), Diana Taurasi, Connecticut (2003-04), and Sue Bird, Connecticut (2000-02).

The 2017 Lieberman Award winner will be announced during the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association keynote session in Dallas, Texas at the Women’s Final Four. For more information on the 2017 Nancy Lieberman Award, log onto

2017 Nancy Lieberman Award Candidates

Lexie Brown


Lindsay Allen

Notre Dame

Kelsey Mitchell

Ohio State

Alexis Peterson


Kelsey Plum



ABOUT Nancy lieberman

Nancy "Lady Magic" Lieberman is a true pioneer in women's sports. Her extensive resume includes Assistant Coach of the NBA's Sacramento Kings, head coach of the Texas Legends the D-League affiliate of the Dallas Mavericks, WNBA player and coach, general manager, sports broadcaster for ABC, NBC, ESPN, and FOX Sports Southwest, motivational speaker, and author. In addition, Nancy Lieberman is a Basketball Hall of Famer, two-time Olympian, three-time All American, two-time collegiate national champion and a two-time National Player of the Year at Old Dominion University. She is also the founder of Nancy Lieberman Charities and Basketball Camps. For more information, visit



Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.



Visit us online: and
… on Facebook:
… on Twitter/Instagram: @hoophall #MaloneAward #CBBAwards
… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA