Monday, March 06, 2017

SPRINGFIELD, MA – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the five finalists for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross. Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its fourteenth year recognizes the top point guards in men’s division one college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel narrowed the original watch list of 20 candidates down to 10 and now the final five.

“The Cousy Award is undoubtedly one of the most prestigious awards in all of college basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “To win this award puts a young man in tremendous company and the five finalists our committee has identified have certainly set themselves apart during their 2016-17 campaign. We encourage fans to support their favorite finalist by voting online in the coming weeks.”

The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes March 10-24.

The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards, presented by Wendy’s, live from The Novo by Microsoft in downtown Los Angeles on Friday, April 7, 2017. The Awards will be televised live on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. EST.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award include Tyler Ulis, Kentucky (2016), Delon Wright, Utah (2015), Shabazz Napier, Connecticut (2014), Trey Burke, Michigan (2013), Kendall Marshall, North Carolina (2012), Kemba Walker, Connecticut (2011), Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (2010), Ty Lawson, North Carolina (2009), DJ Augustin, Texas (2008), Acie Law, Texas A & M (2007), Dee Brown, Illinois (2006), Raymond Felton, North Carolina (2005) and Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s (2004). 

2017 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross Finalists 

Nigel Williams-Goss


Frank Mason III


Joel Berry II

North Carolina

Lonzo Ball


Jalen Brunson



About College of the Holy Cross

Located in Worcester, Mass., Holy Cross is among the nation's leading liberal arts institutions. A highly selective, four-year, exclusively undergraduate college of 2,900 students, Holy Cross is renowned for offering a rigorous, personalized education in the Jesuit, Catholic tradition.  Since its founding in 1843, Holy Cross has made a positive impact in society by graduating students who distinguish themselves as thoughtful leaders in business, professional and civic life.


About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.


For more information

Visit us online: and
… on Facebook:
… on Twitter/Instagram: @hoophall #CousyAward #CBBAwards
… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA