« Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announces 2014 Hall of Fame Women’s Challenge schedule | Main | Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Selections for 2014 Western Massachusetts Senior All-Star Games »

Baylor University’s Odyssey Sims Receives 2014 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

ATLANTA (March 5, 2014) – Odyssey Sims, a 5-foot-8 guard for the Baylor University Lady Bears, is the 2014 recipient of the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award, which is presented annually by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame to the nation's outstanding female collegian 5-feet-8-inches and under who has excelled both athletically and academically. 

Sims, a senior guard and four-year starter at Baylor, is the nation’s leading scorer and has guided the Lady Bears program to a top 10 ranking.

The Irving, Texas native has earned a slew of honors during her career as a member of the Lady Bears program including being named a WBCA All-American and USBWA All-American in 2012 and 2013, a 2013 AP All-American first team selection and the National Freshman of the Year by the USBWA. She was a finalist for the Wooden Award and the Wade Trophy in 2012 and 2013. 

Sims is the fifth Lady Bears player to score 2,000 points and she is the program’s all-time leader in assists and 3-point field goals. Sims is averaging 29.6 points, 4.8 assists and 4.5 rebounds a contest while shooting 45 percent from the floor and 80 percent from the free throw line.

Sims is active within the community as well. Throughout her four years she has visited local elementary schools, served meals at the local soup kitchen, visited pediatric units of local hospitals delivering stuffed bears and participated in packing meals to ship overseas.

Sims becomes the third person affiliated with Baylor to win the award, head coach Kim Mulkey was the award’s first recipient in 1984 and Sheila Lambert was the 2002 winner.

The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award is named in honor of basketball inventor Dr. James Naismith's daughter-in-law. A panel of representatives from the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) selects the recipient. To earn the award, the recipient must demonstrate leadership, character, loyalty, all-around basketball ability and excellence in the classroom. 

Sims will be formally recognized during the fourth annual WBCA Awards Show, which will be held at 5:30 p.m. Monday, April 7, in the Omni Nashville Hotel’s Broadway Ballroom. This event is part of the WBCA National Convention and is held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four® in Nashville.

Previous Winners of the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

1984 Kim Mulkey, Louisiana Tech

1985 Maria Stack, Gonzaga

1986 Kamie Ethridge, Texas

1987 Rhonda Windham, Southern California

1988 Suzie McConnell, Penn State

1989 Paulette Backstrom, Bowling Green

1990 Julie Dabrowski, New Hampshire College

1991 Shanya Evans, Providence College

1992 Rosemary Kisorek, West Virginia

1993 Dena Evans, Virginia

1994 Nicole Levesque, Wake Forest

1995 Amy Dodrill, Johns Hopkins

1996 Jennifer Rizzotti, Connecticut

1997 Jennifer Howard, North Carolina State

1998 Angie Arnold, Johns Hopkins

1999 Becky Hammon, Colorado State

2000 Helen Darling, Penn State

2001 Niele Ivey, Notre Dame

2002 Sheila Lambert, Baylor

2003 Kara Lawson, Tennessee

2004 Erika Valek, Purdue

2005 Tan White, Mississippi State

2006 Megan Duffy, Notre Dame

2007 Lindsey Harding, Duke

2008 Jolene Anderson, Wisconsin

2009 Renee Montgomery, Connecticut

2010 Alexis Gray-Lawson, Cal-Berkeley

2011 Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga

2012 Tavelyn James, Eastern Michigan

2013 Alex Bentley, Penn State

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.
For more information
Visit us on the web: www.hoophall.com
… onFacebook: www.facebook.com/BHOF
… on Twitter: @hoophall
… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA