« Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Launches Benefit Auctions on eBay | Main | Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Final Six Candidates for 2014 Bob Cousy Award »

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Final Five Candidates for 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award 

SPRINGFIELD, MA –The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the final five candidates for the 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award. The award recognizes the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. Candidates exhibit the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills of Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame became the new host of the Nancy Lieberman Award in October 2013 after the Rotary Club of Detroit managed it for several years.

“We are thrilled about this list of five deserving women and cannot wait to announce the winner at the Final Four,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “It was not an easy process narrowing down this list, but we are confident each of these players has earned her way to being recognized for their skills and dedication.”

The Hall of Fame appointed a premier Selection Committee made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Hall of Famers and sports information directors to review the candidates. The original watch list of 29 candidates was narrowed down to 22 in February. The Lieberman Award winner will be announced during Final Four weekend activities.

“It is an honor to be partnering with the Hall of Fame for this prestigious award,” Lieberman said. “Being a part of recognizing the top point guard in women’s college basketball is an absolute honor. These women have truly remarkable abilities and I can’t wait to announce a winner.”

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include last year’s recipient Skylar Diggins (Notre Dame), Sue Bird (Connecticut), Renee Montgomery (Connecticut), Diana Taurasi (Connecticut), Lindsey Harding (Duke), Courtney Vandersloot (Gonzaga), Temeka Johnson (LSU), Kristi Toliver (Maryland), Ivory Latta(North Carolina) and Andrea Riley (Oklahoma State).

2014 Nancy Lieberman Award Final Five

Odyssey Sims, Baylor University

Jerica Coley, Florida International University

Brittany Boyd, University of California

Moriah Jefferson, University of Connecticut

Heather Butler, University of Tennessee at Martin

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.
For more information
Visit us on the web: www.hoophall.com
… onFacebook: www.facebook.com/BHOF
… on Twitter: @hoophall
… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA