« Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Final Five Candidates for 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award | Main | Basketball Hall of Fame Announces 2014 Western Massachusetts High School Player of the Year Awards »

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Final Six Candidates for 2014 Bob Cousy Award

SPRINGFIELD, MA – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the six finalists on for the 2014 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award. The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men’s college basketball. The original list of 47 candidates was narrowed down to the below watch list of six student athletes by a nationally based committee.

“The Cousy Award screening committee took on the tough job of choosing from many talented point guards to determine this list of six players who represent the leadership skills that Bob Cousy exhibited,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “Each of these candidates has consistently proven that they are worthy of this prestigious award.”

“It was a tough process to narrow down the list of already exceptional point guards to only six, but these six men deserve to be fighting for the award and recognized as some of the greatest point guards in college basketball,” said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). “We are excited to see what these six can do for the remainder of the season and recognize the winner at the Final Four.”

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Kendall Marshall (North Carolina),Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A&M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year’s recipient Trey Burke (Michigan).

The final six players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, Sports Information Directors, Hall of Famers and head coaches. The winner of the 2014 Bob Cousy Award will be presented in Dallas as part of Hall of Fame events at the Final Four.

2014 Bob Cousy Award Six Finalists

Kyle Anderson, UCLA

Aaron Craft, Ohio State University

Tyler Ennis, Syracuse University

Shabazz Napier, University of Connecticut

Marcus Paige, University of North Carolina

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State University

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.
For more information
Visit us on the web: www.hoophall.com
… onFacebook: www.facebook.com/BHOF
… on Twitter: @hoophall
… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA