« Baylor University’s Odyssey Sims Receives 2014 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award | Main | Final 22 Candidates Announced for 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award »

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Selections for 2014 Western Massachusetts Senior All-Star Games 

60 seniors selected to participate in three games at the Hall of Fame

SPRINGFIELD, MA – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the team rosters for the 2014 Western Massachusetts Senior High School All-Star Games presented by MetroPCS and Chick-Fil-A. The 2014 All-Star event will be held on Friday, March 21 on the Jerry Colangelo Court of Dreams at the Hall of Fame. A total of 60 players were selected from different divisions within the region to participate in three games that will showcase the top seniors for their final time.

“We are honored to be hosting these games and showcasing such talented players from Western Massachusetts here at the Basketball Hall of Fame,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “Every year, we get to watch these highly skilled seniors from the area celebrate the end of their high school basketball careers before they pursue their future endeavors. It is a truly special event and we thank Chick-Fil-A and MetroPCS for their support.”

The teams were selected by a committee made up of local coaches and media members that represent each division on the boys and girls side. The players will be broken down into six teams: Two boys and one girls team of Division II, III and IV players and two boys and one girls team of Division I players. Only seniors are eligible for the All-Star games. The first game at 5:30 p.m. will be the two Division II, III and IV boys teams, the second game at 7 p.m. will be the Division II, III and IV girls against the Division I girls and the final game of the evening will be the boys Division I teams at 8:30 p.m.

For the fourth year, the Basketball Hall of Fame will recognize one boy and one girl as the Western Massachusetts Players of the Year. A special presentation will be made to the recipients on the Jerry Colangelo Court of Dreams. A distinguished panel of local media members select the award winners, who are recognized for their achievement on the court, plus sportsmanship and character off the court. In addition to honoring the Player of the Year winners, the Hall of Fame will recognize the two recipients of the Basketball Hall of Fame Boys and Girls scholarship award.

Tickets for the All-Star game will be available at the Hall of Fame box office the night of the games and will be good for all three games that evening.

Game 1: 5:30 p.m.

Division II, III and IV Boys Team 1

Shaquille Ardrey, Taconic

Mike Taylor, Taconic

Myles Smith, Longmeadow

Derek McMahon, Smith Academy

Keith Natale, Smith Academy

Malcolm Smith, Turners Falls

Brien Couture, Monson

Heamon Williams, Lee

Marcus Duncan, Wahconah

Kris Vahle, Lenox


Division II, III and IV Boys Team 2

Amancho Adopo, Pittsfield

Devonte Marshall, Renaissance

Robin Marchese, Greenfield

Matt Braman, Hoosac Valley

Trevor Alibozek, Hoosac Valley

Kyle Ingram, Palmer

Nelson Zayas, Sabis

Xavier Stamp, Sabis

Corey Baker, Granby

Brendin Woodward, Mahar


Game 2: 7 p.m.

Division I girls

Anna Walther, Northampton

Maya Kerstetter, Northampton

Kendra Hicks, Central

Janae Bunn, Central

Kelly Reardon, Holyoke

Danielle White, East Longmeadow

Octavia McAllister, Central

Guadalupe Feliciano, Holyoke

Beka Santiago, Westfield

Danielle Stratton, Agawam


Division II, III and IV girls

Jen Gale, Hoosac Valley

Meg Kudowicz, Hoosac Valley

Taj Lewis, Longmeadow

Rebecca Sapouckey, Granby

Amanda Calvo, Frontier

Kara Callahan, South Hadley

Meg Ginley, South Hadley

Nyanna Slaughter, Taconic

Bri Weltlich, Hampshire

Dominique Satrape, Pittsfield


Game 3: 8:30 p.m.

Division I Boys Team 1

Tom Cook, Amherst

Malik Ford, Amherst

Ricky Dixon, East Longmeadow

Luis Rodriguez, East Longmeadow

Stevie Roach, Northampton

Tyler Hannigan-Page, Northampton

Paul Bessette, West Springfield

Andy McNulty, West Springfield

Kevawn Lord, West Springfield

Tyler Desrosiers, Agawam


Division I Boys Team 2

Cullen Burke, Cathedral

Edens Jean-Baptiste, Cathedral

Ju'an Williams, Central

Isiah Pizzaro, Central

Justin White, Holyoke

Guillermo Godreau-Rivera, Holyoke

Adonis Camby, Holyoke

David Murrell, Putnam

Dizel Wright, Putnam

Jamil Sam, Chicopee Comp 

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.
For more information
Visit us on the web: www.hoophall.com
… onFacebook: www.facebook.com/BHOF
… on Twitter: @hoophall
… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA