« Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Selections for 2014 Western Massachusetts Senior All-Star Games | Main | First Annual Basketball Hall Of Fame Fantasy Camp Set For November 2014 »

Final 22 Candidates Announced for 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award

SPRINGFIELD, MASS. – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 22 watch list finalists for the 2014 Nancy Lieberman Award.  Named after Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman, the award recognizes the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.  The original watch list of candidates was narrowed down to the below list of 22 by a nationally based committee.

“We are honored to be recognizing these 22 athletes for their strengths, skills and commitment to the game of basketball and are excited to move forward in the selection process,” Lieberman said.  “All of these young women deserve to be on the list for this well-respected award and deserve recognition for their determination.”

A premier Selection Committee made up of top college basketball personnel including Hall of Famers, media members, head coaches and sports information directors was appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates.  The list will be narrowed down to a final five by March and the winner will be announced during Final Four weekend activities.

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include last year’s recipient Skylar Diggins(Notre Dame), Sue Bird (Connecticut), Renee Montgomery (Connecticut), Diana Taurasi (Connecticut), Lindsey Harding (Duke), Courtney Vandersloot (Gonzaga), Temeka Johnson (LSU), Kristi Toliver (Maryland), Ivory Latta (North Carolina) and Andrea Riley (Oklahoma State).

2014 Nancy Lieberman Award Candidates

Odyssey Sims, Baylor University

Jerica Coley, Florida International University

Yashira Delgado, Florida State University

Damika Martinez, Iona College

Ashley Deary, Northwestern University

Tiffany Bias, Oklahoma State University

Fantasia Hilliard, Sacramento State University

Amber Orrange, Stanford University

Natasha Cloud, St. Joseph’s University

Joanna Harden, Troy University

Brittany Boyd, University of California, Berkeley

Bria Hartley, University of Connecticut

Moriah Jefferson, University of Connecticut

Samantha Logic, University of Iowa

Valencia McFarland, University of Mississippi

Lindsay Allen, University of Notre Dame

Jamierra Faulkner, University of Southern Mississippi

Heather Butler, University of Tennessee at Martin

Jennifer Newsome, University of Tennessee at Martin

Andola Dortch, University of Toledo

Jennifer Schlott, Utah State University

Dequesha McClanahan, Winthrop University

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.
For more information
Visit us on the web: www.hoophall.com
… onFacebook: www.facebook.com/BHOF
… on Twitter: @hoophall
… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA