« Five Direct-Elect Members Announced for the Class of 2014 by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame | Main | John Andariese and Joe Gilmartin Named Recipients of Basketball Hall of Fame’s Curt Gowdy Media Award »

Legendary Player and Coach Alvin Attles To Receive Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2014 John W. Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award 

Providing over 50 consecutive years of uninterrupted service to the Golden State Warriors

NEW ORLEANS, LA AND SPRINGFIELD, MA – Player, Coach, Executive, Alvin Attles has been selected to receive the 2014 John W. Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award by The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame, announced today at NBA All-Star weekend.

The Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award was instituted by the Board of Trustees of the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1973 and is the most prestigious award presented by the Hall of Fame outside of Enshrinement.  Named in honor of Hall of Famer John W. Bunn (Class of 1964), the first chairman of the Basketball Hall of Fame Committee who served from 1949-1964, the award honors coaches, players and contributors whose outstanding accomplishments have impacted the high school, college, professional or International game.

“Alvin Attles contributed over 50 years to the Warriors and to the game of basketball, making him the perfect recipient of this year’s John W. Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “He impacted the lives of so many as a player, coach, ambassador and executive during his NBA tenure. We are honored to recognize Coach Attles with this prestigious award.”

Attles, spent more than 50 consecutive years with the Golden State Warriors as player, player-coach, coach, general manager, vice-president and consultant. He led the Warriors to West Coast version’s first and only NBA Championship (1975), the first time two African American head coaches faced off in the finals.

He attended North Carolina A&T State University from 1956-1960 later going on to play for the NBA’s Philadelphia Warriors from 1960-62. After his short stint in Philadelphia, Attles moved with the team to San Francisco/Golden State where he joined the team at the end of the 1962 season until 1971. During his time as a player with the Warriors, Attles recorded 6,328 points, 2463 rebounds and 2,483 assists in eleven NBA seasons. Being one of only five Warriors players to have his number retired.

Concluding his playing career, Attles later became one of the first African American coaches in the NBA when he was named player-coach for the warriors during the 1969-70 season. He coached the Warriors until 1983, compiling a record of 557-518 (.518). Attles became the winningest coach in Warriors history, leading them to two Pacific Division Titles (1975,1976) and recording seven consecutive winning seasons (1971-78). He coached the Western Conference All-Star team in 1975 and 1976, later becoming the general manager of the Warriors from 1983-86. Attles serves as the community-relations ambassador for the Warriors.

Attles will be presented the John W. Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award during the 2014 Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame ceremonies, to be held at the “Hall of Fame Family Reunion Dinner” in August. For more information, please visit www.hoophall.com.

Previous John W. Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

1973 - John Bunn

1974 - John Wooden

1975 - J. Walter Kennedy

1976 - Henry P. Iba

1977 - Clifford B. Fagan

1978 - Curt Gowdy

1979 - Eddie Gottlieb

1980 - Arnold "Red" Auerbach

1981 - Ray Meyer

1982 - Daniel Biasone

1983 - Robert J. Cousy

1984 - Lawrence F. O'Brien

1985 - Lee Williams

1986 - Grady W. Lewis

1987 - David R. Gavitt

1988 - Haskell Hillyard

1989 - George E. Killian

1990 - Pat Head Summitt

1991 - Morgan B. Wootten

1992 - Will Robinson

1993 - Joe Vancisin                                           

1994 - William Wall

1995 - Pete Carlesimo

1996 - Vic Bubas

1997 - C.M. Newton

1998 - Tex Winter

1999 - The Harlem Globetrotters

2000 - Meadowlark Lemon            

2001 - Tom Jernstedt

2002 - Harvey Pollack

2003 - Joe O'Brien

2004 - Zelda Spoelstra

2005 - Marty Blake

2006 - Betty Jaynes

2007 - Thomas "Satch" Sanders

2008 - Val Ackerman

2009 - Johnny "Red" Kerr

2010 - Don Meyer

2011 - Brian McIntyre

2012 - Pat Williams

2013 - George Raveling

2014 - Alvin Attles

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame: Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.
For more information:
Visit us on the web: www.hoophall.com
… onFacebook: www.facebook.com/BHOF
… on Twitter: @hoophall
… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA