« Legendary Player and Coach Alvin Attles To Receive Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2014 John W. Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award | Main | Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Partnership with Communities in Schools and Leadership Foundations »

John Andariese and Joe Gilmartin Named Recipients of Basketball Hall of Fame’s Curt Gowdy Media Award

NEW ORLEANS, LA and SPRINGFIELD, MA – Famed sportswriter Joe Gilmartin and broadcaster of more than 30 years John Andariese are the 2014 Curt Gowdy Media Award recipients.  The two will be acknowledged for their contribution to basketball during the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Enshrinement events in August in Springfield, Massachusetts.

The Curt Gowdy Media Award is named in honor of the late Curt Gowdy, a legendary sports broadcaster and former Hall of Fame Board member and President.  This prestigious award is presented annually to members of the print and electronic media whose longtime efforts have made a significant contribution to the game of basketball.

John Andariese, MSG Network’s Knicks analyst, made his broadcasting debut in the 1968-69 college basketball season and is now regarded as one of the best television/radio commentators in the game.  He started providing color commentary and analysis with Marv Albert’s play-by-play for the New York Knicks in 1972, Andariese and Albert became the staple announcing team.

Andariese joined TVS in 1967, a television network created by sports television producer Eddie Einhorn.  After two years, he was hired as one of the first collegiate basketball color analysts for ESPN and eventually became co-host of NBA2Night with Greg Gumbel in 1977.

After ESPN lost the rights to the NBA to Turner Broadcasting, Andariese became on-air analyst with Skip Carey for two years, until he was rehired by the Knicks to do radio and was eventually hired by Madison Square Garden to be the regular TV analyst with Albert once again.

In 1986 he started working for Madison Square Garden Network and then teamed back up with Albert to do radio.  Andariese is a regular on the Knicks half-time show and has been an analyst for a number of pre-game NBA playoff games for NBA TV.

Andariese is now a member of the St. Michael’s Diocesan High School, a Catholic High School Athletic Association, Fordham University Hall of Fame and the Brooklyn Old-Timers Hall of Fame.

Joe Gilmartin, a sports columnist for the Phoenix Gazette for more than 30 years, started his career working for the Wichita Beacon and Wichita Eagle before joining the Gazette in 1962 as assistant sports editor.  He became sports editor in 1963 and continued to write a column until 1996 as the Gazette merged with the Arizona Republic.

Gilmartin was named Arizona Sportswriter of the Year a record 16 times.  He continued to contribute his writing to websites of the Arizona Diamondbacks and the Phoenix Suns, where he became the team’s TV analyst in the 1980’s. 

After serving as a Sporting News NBA correspondent for more than 20 years, Gilmartin became the second inductee into the Associated Press Sports Editors Arizona Sports Writers’ Hall of Fame in 2004.  He was the first president named to the Pro Basketball Writers Association and served from 1972-74.  Gilmartin is the author of the book about the Suns’ run to the 1976 NBA Finals, The Little Team that Could…And Darn Near Did

He has covered 25 NBA Finals, 15 Final Fours, 20 Super Bowls and 14 World Series in his career.

Previous Curt Gowdy Media Award Winners:

Year  - Print/Electronic

1990 - Dick Herbert/Curt Gowdy

1991 - Dave Dorr/Marty Glickman

1992 - Sam Goldaper/Chick Hearn

1993 - Leonard Lewin/Johnny Most

1994 - Leonard Koppett/Cawood Ledford

1995 - Bob Hammel/Dick Enberg

1996 - Bob Hentzen/Billy Packer

1997 - Bob Ryan/Marv Albert

1998 - Larry Donald & Dick Weiss/Dick Vitale

1999 - Smith Barrier/Bob Costas

2000 - Dave Kindred/Hubie Brown

2001 - Curry Kirkpatrick/Dick Stockton

2002 - Jim O’Connell/Jim Nantz

2003 - Sid Hartman/Hot Rod Hundley

2004 - Phil Jasner/Max Falkenstien

2005 - Jack McCallum/Bill Campbell

2006 - Mark Heisler/Bill Raftery

2007 - Malcolm Moran/Al McCoy

2008 - David DuPree/Bob Wolff

2009 - Peter Vecsey/Doug Collins

2010 - Jackie MacMullan/Joe Tait

2011 - Alexander Wolff/Jim Durham

2012 - Sam Smith/Bill Schonely

2013 - John Feinstein/Eddie Doucette

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame: Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate and high school, for both men and women on the global stage.
For more information:
Visit us on the web: www.hoophall.com
… onFacebook: www.facebook.com/BHOF
… on Twitter: @hoophall
… or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA