« Legendary Coach George Raveling To Receive Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2013 John W. Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award | Main | Mannie Jackson Documentary Airs Feb 18 on the Big Ten Network »

John Feinstein and Eddie Doucette Named Recipients of Basketball Hall of Fame’s Curt Gowdy Media Award 

Springfield, MA – Eddie Doucette, the original voice of the expansion Milwaukee Bucks, and John Feinstein, one of the most prolific basketball writers of all time, are the 2013 Curt Gowdy Media Award recipients. The two individuals, who have put in over 30 years in the game of basketball, will be acknowledged for their contribution to basketball during the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Enshrinement events September 7-8, 2013 in Springfield, Massachusetts.

The Curt Gowdy Media Award is named in honor of the legendary sports broadcaster and former Hall of Fame Board member and President, the late Curt Gowdy. The prestigious award is presented annually to members of the print and electronic media whose longtime efforts have made a significant contribution to the game of basketball.

John Feinstein, the 2013 honoree for the Print Media, has been called America’s favorite sportswriter. Feinstein, a graduate of Duke University, began writing politics and sports for The Washington Post in 1977. After leaving the Post in 1988 to obtain a position with Sports Illustrated, Feinstein returned to the newspaper in 1992.

Feinstein started to receive national recognition in 1986 when he wrote the book A Season on the Brink: A Year with Bob Knight and the Indiana Hoosiers. The book became the best-selling nonfiction sports books of all time when it was first published, providing readers an inside look at one of the most successful and controversial coaches ever to navigate the sidelines of college basketball. Other Feinstein basketball related books include: Last Shot, The Last Amateurs, Let Me Tell You a Story, Winter Games, A March to Madness, Forever’s Team, and A Season Inside.

In his spare time, Feinstein serves as the color commentator for Navy football games and a regular contributor to Sports Illustrated, National Sports Daily, Pardon the Interruption, Jim Rome, The Sports Reporters, NPR, and The Sporting News Radio.

Eddie Doucette, the 2013 Gowdy Award winner representing the Electronic Media, was the original voice of the Milwaukee Bucks for 16 seasons, including one glorious championship. Eddie handled the play-by-play for two current Hall of Famers, a young Lew Alcindor and veteran Oscar Robertson. He is even credited by Alcindor, also known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, on naming his signature move of the “skyhook.”

Doucette has covered the NBA for over 30 years working for NBA-TV, CBS, USA Network, and the NBA Radio Network. He’s also affiliated with NBA teams including the Pacers, Nuggets, Clippers, and Trail Blazers. Doucette has key contributions to Major league baseball with nearly 20 years of play-by-play, radio voice of the NFL’s Los Angeles Rams, college bowl games, official PGA Tour events, and play-by-play for the Mountain West Conference football and basketball programs.

Doucette also lends his talents for official Hall of Fame events, exhibitions and game broadcasts. He’s a member of the Wisconsin Broadcasters Hall of Fame, a graduate of Michigan State University, and annually has helped raise more than two million dollars for the Midwest Athletes Against Childhood Cancer.

Previous Curt Gowdy Media Award Winners

Year  - Print/Electronic

1990 - Dick Herbert/Curt Gowdy

1991 - Dave Dorr/Marty Glickman

1992 - Sam Goldaper/Chick Hearn

1993 - Leonard Lewin/Johnny Most

1994 - Leonard Koppett/Cawood Ledford

1995 - Bob Hammel/Dick Enberg

1996 - Bob Hentzen/Billy Packer

1997 - Bob Ryan/Marv Albert

1998 - Larry Donald & Dick Weiss/Dick Vitale

1999 - Smith Barrier/Bob Costas

2000 - Dave Kindred/Hubie Brown

2001 - Curry Kirkpatrick/Dick Stockton

2002 - Jim O’Connell/Jim Nantz

2003 - Sid Hartman/Hot Rod Hundley

2004 - Phil Jasner/Max Falkenstien

2005 - Jack McCallum/Bill Campbell

2006 - Mark Heisler/Bill Raftery

2007 - Malcolm Moran/Al McCoy

2008 - David DuPree/Bob Wolff

2009 - Peter Vecsey/Doug Collins

2010 - Jackie MacMullan/Joe Tait

2011 - Alexander Wolff/Jim Durham

2012 - Sam Smith/Bill Schonely

2013 - John Feinstein/Eddie Doucette

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.

For more information:

Visit us on the web: www.hoophall.com

on Facebook: www.facebook.com/BBHOF

… on Twitter: @hoophall

or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA