« North Carolina Point Guard Kendall Marshall Receives 2012 Bob Cousy Award | Main | Basketball Hall of Fame Announces the 2012 Western Massachusetts High School Player of the Year Awards »

The Basketball Hall of Fame honors Oakland University’s Reggie Hamilton with the 2012 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

44th annual award honors the daughter-in-law of Dr. James Naismith

SPRINGFIELD, MA – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the winner of
the 2012 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award. This award is given annually to one senior, six-foot-andunder,
who thrived in the classroom and on the basketball court.

This year’s winner is Reggie Hamilton from Oakland University. The 5’11” guard broke the Summit
League’s single-season scoring record this year with 919 points while also leading the nation in scoring
with 26 points per game. Hamilton has directed the Golden Grizzlies to a 20-15 record and an
appearance in this weekend’s semifinals of the CollegeInsiders.com Postseason Tournament. The
Chicago native went over 2,000 points for his career earlier this season and has a career-best 114
three-pointers this season, third-best in program history. He was also selected to the 2012 National
Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division I All-District 12 first team

He graduated with a degree in communication from Oakland University in May 2011 and is currently
taking post-graduate courses. He was named to 2007-08 Academic All-Summit League team and is a
member of the National Honor Society.

“Reggie Hamilton is one of the premier scorers in college basketball,” said John L. Doleva, President
and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “The combination of his success on the
court, and his achievements in the classroom as a student-athlete, make him a deserving recipient who
exemplifies the qualities this award is designed to celebrate.”

The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award is named in honor of James Naismith's daughter-in-law. A panel
of representatives from the National Association of Basketball Coaches selects the recipient. To earn
the award, the recipient must demonstrate leadership, character, loyalty, all-around basketball ability,
and excellence in the classroom.