« Eastern Michigan’s Tavelyn James Receives 2012 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award | Main | Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Announces 12 Finalists for 2012 Election »

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Selections For 2012 Western Massachusetts Senior All-Star Games

60 seniors selected to participate in three games at Hall of Fame

SPRINGFIELD, MA – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the team rosters for the 2012 Western Massachusetts Senior High School All-Star Games that will be played on Tuesday March 23rd on the Basketball Hall of Fame’s Center Court.  Total of 60 players were selected from the region that will be divided among three games that will showcase the top seniors in our region for the final time.

“We are pleased to once again host the best of the best from Western Massachusetts,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame.  “Our region boasts so many talented basketball players and we look forward to showcasing their talents at the Hall of Fame in a final game to finish each player’s senior season.”  “We wish all of our players nothing but the best in the future and hope this will be an experience they will always remember.”

The teams were selected by a committee made up of local coaches and media members that represent each division on the boys and girls side.  Six teams of 10 were chosen and will be broken down into the following teams:  Division III boys, Division II boys, Division I girls, Division II/III girls and two Division I boys teams.  Only seniors are eligible for the All-Star games.  Games will begin at 5:30 PM on March 23rd with the Division II boys playing the Division III boys; at 7:00 PM, the Division I girls will battle the Division II/III girls team; the final game scheduled for 8:30 PM will feature two Division I boys teams competing against one another.

In partnership with MassLive.com, the Basketball Hall of Fame has created a “Player of the Year” award for one boy and one girl from the region.  Both of these awards will be presented that evening in a special presentation made to the recipients on Center Court.  A voting committee comprised of media members selected the winners of each award.  At halftime of the girl’s game, the Hall of Fame/MassLive.com Western Mass. Girls Player of the Year will be announced and presented. During halftime of the corresponding boys game, the Boys Player of the Year will be celebrated.  Criteria for the awards include achievements on the court, sportsmanship and good character off the court.  All players, seniors and underclassman, are eligible.

Tickets will be available at the Hall of Fame box office the night of the games and will be good for all three of the scheduled games that evening.

Game 1:  5:30 PM

Division II Boys                                                         
Chris Ladd, Belchertown            
Casey White, Easthampton    
Keith Cotnoir, Hampshire            
Phil DePhillipo, Mahar    
Jesse Lacroix, Mahar    
Luis Agrait, South Hadley        
Elijah Marchese, Greenfield        
Tommy Mahoney, Southwick
John Kinne, Monument Mountain    
Peter Gregory, Taconic    

Division III Boys
Chris Bravo, Lenox
Matt Scapin, Lee
Mike McMahon, St. Joseph
Allan Rivera, Smith Vocational
Reynoldo Espada, Dean Tech
Aaron Gaj, Granby
Stephen Jackson, New Leadership
Nate Powers, Holyoke Catholic
Matt Gibson, Turners Falls
Nate Perret, Frontier

Game 2:  7:00 PM

Division I Girls                                                              
Arielle Ward, East Longmeadow    
Emily Stetkiewicz, East Longmeadow    
Alison Littles, Holyoke    
Monique Heard, Holyoke    
Samantha Barnes, Northampton    
Dana Theobald, West Springfield    
Emily Taylor, West Springfield    
Briana Leonard, Amherst    
Kristen Ferola, Amherst    
Jill Ritrosky, Pittsfield    

Division II/III Girls
Jen Begley, Monument Mountain
Alyssa Boardway, Granby
Haley Domina, Easthampton
Alyssa Klepacki, Smith Academy
Halie Laviolette, Palmer
Samantha Parker, Mahar
Kaylie Robidoux, Ware
Nykeisha Robinson, Commerce
Taylor Rooney, Cathedral
Kara Rys, Ware

Game 3:  8:30 PM

Division I Boys Team 1                                      
Jordan Monts, Cathedral    
Ryan DiBernardo, Cathedral    
Taylor Cason, Holyoke    
Austin, Keeler, Holyoke    
Alex Lopez, Commerce    
Jarrod Neumann, Northampton    
Jared Murphy, Northampton    
Joe Meade, Westfield    
Jesus Sanchez, Chicopee    
Keiland Cross, Pittsfield    

Division I Boys Team 2
Tyrell Springer, Central
Chris Prophet, Central
Javaughn MacMillan, Central
Lee Turner, Central
Jordan Almore, Putnam
Brendan Abad, Longmeadow
John Basile, Longmeadow
Tehuijo Nkamebo, Amherst
A.J. Efstratios, Agawam
Jason Erhardt, Minnechaug