« Basketball Hall of Fame to Participate in Green Travel Initiative | Main | Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Class of 2011 - Mullin, Rodman, Gilmore and VanDerveer Headline Distinguished Group »

Grant Hill Elected to Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Governors

Becomes First Current Player Ever Elected to Board

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. –The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame today announced that NBA star Grant Hill of the Phoenix Suns has been elected to the Board of Governors for a three-year term.  He is the first current player to ever serve on the Hall of Fame’s Board.  He will serve as one of 22 members of the Board of Governors, which is chaired by Jerry Colangelo.

“It is truly an honor to be included as a member of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Directors and to represent the living history of basketball,” said Hill.  “It is important for the current generation of players to get involved with the Hall to be help recognize the ambassadors of the game before us.”

As one of the most versatile players ever to play in the NBA, Hill has had a successful career playing with the Detroit Pistons, Orlando Magic and now the Suns.  He began his career at Duke University where he helped the Blue Devils win National Championships in 1991 and 1992.  After being drafted third overall in the 1994 NBA Draft by the Pistons, he was named the co-NBA Rookie of the Year in 1995 and went on to become a seven-time NBA All-Star.  He was named All-NBA First Team in 1997 and has also received three NBA Sportsmanship awards in 2005, 2008 and 2010.

“Grant Hill has been one of the most dedicated, honorable and well-respected individuals the game has ever seen,” said Colangelo.  “The Board recognized that Grant has offered a high level of leadership and integrity both on and off the court for so many years at all levels of the game.”

The Board of Governors serves as the group responsible for overseeing the management of the Basketball Hall of Fame. Made up of individuals that work in or have worked in the game as well as business leaders that have supported the game, the Board oversees the governance of the Hall and its election process as well as to determine ways to raise revenue and awareness.  The Board of Governors are ambassadors for the Hall promoting its core mission, which is to celebrate the greatest moments and people in basketball.

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the city where basketball was invented, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.

Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Governors:

Valerie Ackerman, Former President, WNBA & USA Basketball

George Bodenheimer, President, ESPN Inc. and ABC Sports

Ulysses “Junior” Bridgeman, President, CEO and Owner, Manna, Inc.

Greg Butler Senior V.P. & General Counsel, Northeast Utilities

Jerry Colangelo (Class of ‘04), Chairman, Board of Governors and Chairman, USA Basketball

Jody Conradt (Class of ‘98), Former Head Coach, University of Texas

Charles Denson, President, Nike Brand, Nike Inc.

George Dickerman, Chairman (Retired), Spalding Sports  

Russ Granik, Deputy Commissioner, (Retired) NBA

Robin Harris, Executive Director, The Ivy League

Grant Hill, Player, NBA’s Phoenix Suns

Mannie Jackson, Chairman (Retired), Harlem Globetrotters International

William Koenig, NBAE EVP, Business Affairs & General Counsel, NBA

Joel Litvin, President, League & Basketball Operations, NBA

Joseph LoBello, Chairman (Retired), Peoples Bank

Harvey Mackay, Chairman & Founder, MackayMitchell Envelope Co.

Greg Shaheen, Executive Vice President of Championships and Alliances

Tom Stultz, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, IMG College

Mark Tatum, Executive VP, Global Marketing Partnerships, NBA

Jim Taubenfeld, Attorney, CPA & CFO, Me Salve, Inc.

Victor Ugolyn, Chairman, Wisdom Tree Trust, Chairman, MONY Securities (Retired)

Elaine Wynn, Director, Wynn Resorts