« Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Winner of 2011 Bob Cousy Award | Main | Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame to Participate in Autism Speaks "Light It Up Blue" Campaign in Support of World Autism Awareness Day & Autism Awareness Month »

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Winner of Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

Jacob Pullen recognized as 2011 award winner

SPRINGFIELD, MA The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts today announced the winner of the 2011 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award. This award is given annually to one senior, six-foot and under, who thrived in the classroom and on the playing court.

This year’s winner is Jacob Pullen from Kansas State University.  Jacob averaged more than 20 points per game this year for the Wildcats, leading them to a 23-11 record and an appearance in the third round of the NCAA tournament.  With his 38 points against Wisconsin in his final game, Jacob also became the school's all-time leading scorer with 2,132 points. He also ranks on the Kansas State all-time list for steals, three-point field goals and assists and holds career records for games played and double-digit scoring games.

The school’s first three-time team captain, Pullen will graduate with a degree in criminology from Kansas State in May 2010.  He has been involved in several community service projects, including Read to Achieve, Adopt A Family, Special Olympics and Habitat for Humanity.

“We are proud to honor Jacob Pullen with the 2011 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award”, stated John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.  “The combination of his success on the court, and his achievements in the classroom as a student-athlete, make him a deserving recipient who exemplifies the qualities this award is designed to celebrate.” 

The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award is named in honor of James Naismith's daughter-in-law. A panel of representatives from the National Association of Basketball Coaches selects the recipient. To earn the award, the recipient must demonstrate leadership, character, loyalty, all-around basketball ability, and excellence in the classroom. 

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.  For more information on these and other upcoming events, please visit our website at www.hoophall.com or call 413-781-6500.

Previous Winners of the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award 

1969 William Keller, Purdue University                    1991 Keith Jennings, East Tennessee State

1970 John Rinka, Kenyon                                        1992 Tony Bennett, Wisconsin-Green Bay

1971 Charlie Johnson, University of California        1993 Sam Crawford, New Mexico State

1972 Scott Martin, University of Oklahoma             1994 Greg Brown, University of New Mexico

1973 Robert Sherwin, Army                                    1995 Tyus Edney, UCLA

1974 Mike Robinson, Michigan State                       1996 Eddie Benton, University of Vermont

1975 Monte Tow, North Carolina State                   1997 Brevin Knight, Stanford University

1976 Frank Alagia, St. John’s                                  1998 Earl Boykins, E. Michigan University

1977 Jeff Jonas, Utah                                              1999 Shawnta Rogers, George Washington U.

1978 Mike Schieb, Susquehanna                            2000 Scoonie Penn, Ohio State Universtiy

1979 Alton Byrd, Columbia                                      2001 Rashad Phillips, Detroit

1980 Jim Sweeney, Boston College                        2002 Steve Logan, University of Connecticut

1981 Terry Adolph, West Texas State                    2003 Jason Gardner, University of Arizona

1982 Jack Moore, University of Nebraska               2004 Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s

1983 Ray McMallum, Ball State University               2005 Nate Robinson, University of Washington

1984 Ricky Stokes, University of Virginia                2006 Dee Brown, University of Illinois

1985 Bubba Jennings, Texas Tech University         2007 Tre’ Kelley, University of South Carolina

1986 Jim Les, Bradley University                            2008 Mike Green, Butler University

1987 Tyrone Bogues, Wake Forest University       2009 Darren Collison, UCLA

1988 Jerry Johnson, Florida Southern                    2010 Sherron Collins, University of Kansas

1989 Tim Hardaway, UTEP

1990 Greg Harvey, St. John’s