« Historic 4-Point Shot Memorabilia Finds its New Home at the Hall of Fame | Main | Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Announces 12 Finalists for 2011 Election »

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Selections For 2011 Senior All-Star Games

61 seniors selected to participate in three games at Hall of Fame

SPRINGFIELD, MA – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the team rosters for the 2011 Western Massachusetts Senior High School All-Star Games that will be played on Tuesday March 22nd on the Basketball Hall of Fame’s Center Court.  Total of 60 players were selected from the region that will be divided among three games that will showcase the top seniors in our region for the final time.

“The Hall of Fame is pleased to host the best of the best from Western Massachusetts,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame.  “Our region is filled with talented basketball players and we look forward to showcasing each of their talents at the Hall of Fame in a final showcase at the end of each player’s senior season.”  “We wish all of them nothing but the best in the future and hope this is a memorable experience for all involved.”

The teams were selected by a committee made up of local coaches and media members that represent each division on the boys and girls side.  Six teams of 10 were chosen and will be broken down into the following teams:  Division III boys, Division II boys, Division I girls, Division II/III girls and two Division I boys teams.  Only seniors are eligible for the All-Star games.  Games will begin at 5:00 PM on March 22nd with the Division II boys playing the Division III boys; at 6:30 PM, the Division I girls will battle the Division II/III girls team; the final game scheduled for 8:00 PM will feature two Division I boys teams competing against one another. 

In partnership with MassLive.com, the Basketball Hall of Fame has created a “Player of the Year” award for one boy and one girl from the region.  Both of these awards will be presented that evening in a special presentation made to the recipients on Center Court.  A voting committee comprised of media members selected the winners of each award.  The winners of each award will be announced on Monday, March 21st.  Criteria for the awards include achievements on the court, sportsmanship and good character off the court.  All players, seniors and underclassman, are eligible.

Tickets will be sold on the night of the game only and admission will be good for all three of the scheduled games that evening.

Game 1:  5:00 PM

Division II Boys                                                            Division III Boys

Dan Johnson                            Belchertown                Josue Figueroa                        Dean Tech

Pat Gooden                             Belchertown                Erik Brown                               N. Leadership

Nate Connor                            Belchertown                Anthony Taylor                        N. Leadership

Chris Bush                               Taconic                        Dylan Reese                            H. Catholic

Nick Aitken                              Hoosac Valley              Gabe Craig                              Gateway

Sam Pouliot                             South Hadley               Kevin Carpenter                      Lenox

Jahson Hollett                         Sabis                            Richard Vega                          W. Voke

Keefe Gitto                              Monument                   Clinton Sapowski                    Granby

Andrew Harmon                      Hoosac Valley              Anthony Afflitto                       Smith

Lamar Phillips                          Taconic                        Forest Bulley                           Turners Falls 


Game 2:  6:30 PM

Division I Girls                                                                         Division II/III Girls

Kylie White                              East Longmeadow                  Tara Dooley                 Lee

Lauren Weston                        Northampton                          Katelyn Metzger          Monson

Jess Frawley                            Agawam                                  Alexis Chappell            Sabis

Amber Legare                         Chicopee Comp                       Taevosha Rentas         Sabis

Alexis Wegrzynek                   Chicopee Comp                       Brianne DelValle           Belchertown

JC Pickett                                Chicopee Comp                       Gabriella Felix               Commerce

Brittany Rhodes                      Westfield                                 Kat Lynch                     Cathedral

Nancy Mangels                       Amherst                                   Margo McCarthy            Hampshire

Amanda McLaughlin               Minnechaug                              Kristin Calvo                  Frontier

Lauren McLaughlin                 Pittsfield                                   Sara Mills                      Monument


Game 3:  8:00 PM

Division I Boys                         Team 1                        Division I Boys             Team 2           


Jordan Santiago                      Westfield                     Chris Hill                      West Springfield

Alex Garstzka                          Westfield                     Musa Elsir                    West Springfield

Spencer Phillips                       Westfield                     Victor Aytche                West Springfield

Jake Laga                                Northampton               David Soto                   Holyoke

Grant Cooper                          Northampton               Denzel Washington      Sci-Tech

Brandon Bosworth                  East Longmeadow       Richie Cantella             Chicopee

Basil Stewart                          Amherst                       Exzavier White             Chicopee Comp

Jose Allen                               Amherst                        Ruben Del Rosario       Central

Zach Bombard                        Cathedral                     Tayquan Goodman       Central

Ryan Labonte                         Agawam                       Jesus Rosario               Putnam

                                                                                   John Toledo                  Putnam