« Basketball Hall Of Fame Announces Winners Of 2011 Morgan Wootten Award | Main | MAAC Unveils Plans for Basketball Hall of Fame Exhibit »

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces 20 Finalists for Bob Cousy Award

List of 70 plus candidates down to final 20

JANUARY 12, 2011 – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts announced today 20 finalists for the 2011 Bob Cousy Award. This annual award is given to college basketball’s top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic great Bob Cousy. An original list of 70 plus candidates was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally based committee to the below list of 20.

“This list makes up college basketball’s elite at the point guard position,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “These 20 players incontention for the award all have skills that Mr. Cousy would be proud of. The Hall of Fame looks forward to having these players compete for one of college basketball’s most prestigious awards.” 

“We are pleased with our list of 20 candidates that have advanced into the next round of the process,” said Ken Kauffman, Chair of the 2011 Bob Cousy Award. “We’ve got a very competitive field of players in contention for the award and we look forward to moving into the next phase. All of these players are well deserving of the recognition.” 

The current listing of 20 finalists for the 2011 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to 10 players in early February and then down five players by early March. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. These Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2011 Bob Cousy Award will be awarded at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Monday April 4th in Houston as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included: Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina) and Greivis Vasquez (Maryland). For more information on the 2011 Bob Cousy Award, log onto www.cousyaward.com .

Bob Cousy Award Finalists:

Kevin Anderson University of Richmond

Norris Cole Cleveland State University

Malcolm Delaney Virginia Tech

Corey Fisher Villanova University

Jimmer Fredette Brigham Young University

DJ Gay San Diego State University

Tu Holloway Xavier University

Scoop Jardine Syracuse University

Brandon Knight University of Kentucky

Kalin Lucas Michigan State University

Demetri McCamey University of Illinois

Mickey McConnell St. Mary’s College

Jacob Pullen Kansas State University

Nolan Smith Duke University

Isaiah Thomas University of Washington

Jordan Taylor University of Wisconsin

Tyshawn Taylor University of Kansas

Kemba Walker University of Connecticut

Casper Ware Long Beach State

Chris Wright Georgetown University


About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the birthplace of basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women. For more information on these and other upcoming events, please visit our website at www.hoophall.com or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA.