« The Basketball Hall of Fame is Filled with Fun for Everyone During February Vacation Week | Main | Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Final Eleven Candidates For 2010 Bob Cousy Award »

Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Announces New Governance Structure

SPRINGFIELD, MA – February 9, 2010 – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame today announced a new structure for its Board of Governors and Trustees that will help guide the future initiatives of the sports museum located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the birthplace of basketball. In addition to the changes in structure, Jerry Colangelo, Chairman of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Board, announced that seven new Board members and six new trustees have been added to support the Hall as it grows its business and global impact.

“We are proud to announce this strategic change in the governance structure of the Basketball Hall of Fame,” said Colangelo. “Our goal was to create a Board of Governors for the Hall that represents the diversity of the game of basketball while recognizing the key constituents of our game.  The new Board members will bring a wealth of new energy and experience as they work together with local representatives of the Springfield region and key influencers from the national sports and entertainment industry, including many of our great Hall of Famers themselves.”

Joining the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Governors are George Bodenheimer, President, ESPN and ABC Sports and Co-Chairman, Disney Media Networks; Junior Bridgeman, CEO of Bridgeman Foods Inc. and former President of the NBA Players Association; Jody Conradt, former head coach at the University of Texas, who was elected to the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1998; Charles Denson, President of the NIKE Brand; Pat Riley, President of the Miami Heat, who was elected to the Hall of Fame in 2008; Tom Stultz, Senior Vice President & Managing Director, College Sports for IMG; and Elaine Wynn, board member of the Wynn Resorts Ltd.

In addition, the Hall of Fame named several high level executives to serve as Trustees, including Frank Colaccino, CEO Colvest Group; Mitchell Etess, CEO Mohegan Sun Resort & Casino; Billy Hunter, Executive Director of the NBA Players Association; David Pace, founder of Pace Sports and former Reebok General Counsel; George Raveling, NIKE Global Basketball Director; and Dr. Glenn Wong, Professor of Sports Management at the University of Massachusetts.

“I would like to thank Jerry Colangelo and the members of the Hall’s Board Development and Governance Committee who worked with us to design a structure that will maximize the effectiveness of the Basketball Hall of Fame,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “I am looking forward to working with the new Board members and Trustees to grow the Hall’s presence on a local, national and international basis during this important and exciting time for our organization.”