« Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Announces New Governance Structure | Main | Basketball Hall of Famer Richard "Dick" McGuire Passes Away At The Age of 84 »

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Final Eleven Candidates For 2010 Bob Cousy Award

List of 73 narrowed to 20, now down to 11, Fan Voting Begins

FEBRUARY 5, 2010  - The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts today announced the final 11 candidates in consideration for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.  This annual award is given to college basketball’s top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtics guard Bob Cousy.  An original list of 73 candidates made up of players from Division I, II and III schools was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally based committee to 20 and has now narrowed that list to a final 11.

“This final list of 11 players represents the cream of the crop in college basketball at the point guard position,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame.  “We look forward to recognizing the nation’s top college basketball point guard and wish all the candidates best of luck.”

"We are proud to be a part of a growing tradition at the Basketball Hall of Fame and congratulate this year’s Bob Cousy Award finalists. This award promotes the values of leadership, vision, teamwork and integrity, skills that are not only needed on the basketball court but also in life," said Mike Concannon, executive vice president of sales and distribution at The Hartford. “These values are shared by The Hartford and reflect the high standards set by Mr. Cousy to inspire people on and off the court to achieve what is ahead of them.”

Beginning February 5, via the Bob Cousy Award’s website – www.cousyaward.com – fans will be able to vote for the top point guard.  The player that receives the most fan votes will receive one vote toward the final committee vote.  Fan voting will run one month – beginning February 5 and will conclude March 5.

The current listing of 11 finalists for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford will be narrowed down to five players by March 1st.  The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.  These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers.  The winner of the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford will be awarded at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Monday April 5th in Indianapolis as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.


2010 Bob Cousy Award Finalists

Matt Bouldin - Gonzaga

Sherron Collins - Kansas

Devan Downey – South Carolina

Trevon Hughes – Wisconsin

Jeremy Lin – Harvard

Kalin Lucas – Michigan State

Ronald Moore – Siena

Scottie Reynolds - Villanova

Jon Scheyer - Duke

Greivis Vasquez – Maryland

John Wall - Kentucky


About The Hartford:

Celebrating nearly 200 years, The Hartford (NYSE: HIG) is an insurance-based financial services company that serves households, businesses and employees by helping to protect their assets and income from risks, and by managing wealth and retirement needs. A Fortune 500 company, The Hartford is recognized widely for its service expertise and as one of the world’s most ethical companies. More information on the company and its financial performance is available at www.thehartford.com.

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the birthplace of basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.  For more information on these and other upcoming events, please visit our website at www.hoophall.com or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA