« Basketball Hall of Famer Richard "Dick" McGuire Passes Away At The Age of 84 | Main | Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2010 to be Enshrined on August 13th »

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces Winners of 2010 Morgan Wootten Award

Award Recognizes excellence in high school coaching

SPRINGFIELD, MASS - -FEBRUARY 1, 2010 – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today the 2010 winners of the Morgan Wootten Award for Lifetime Achievement in Coaching High School Basketball.  The annual awards, one for boys’ basketball and one for girls’ basketball, is named after the only coach enshrined into the Basketball Hall of Fame that exclusively coached high school basketball, Morgan Wootten. 

The 2010 winner of the Morgan Wootten Award for boys’ basketball is Robert Hughes.  Coach Hughes coached I.M. Terrell and Fort Worth Dunbar High School in Texas for 47 years prior to his retirement in 2005.  In his tenure, Coach Hughes collected five state championships and posted 1,333 victories which is the most wins in high school basketball history.  He passed Morgan Wootten’s record for victories in 2003.  For his efforts, Coach Hughes has been enshrined into the Texas High School Basketball Hall of Fame, Texas Sports Hall of Fame and the National High School Hall of Fame.

The 2010 winner of the Morgan Wootten Award for girls’ basketball is Rick Insell.  Coach Insell, who is currently coaching Middle Tennessee State University, coached Shelbyville Central High School for 28 years.  He guided Shelbyville Central High School to 10 TSSAA Class AAA state championships, two USA Today National Championships and compiled a 775-148 record over 28 years.  One of the pioneers of women’s basketball in the state of Tennessee, he is one of four coaches enshrined into the National High School Hall of Fame. 

“The selection of these two legendary high school coaches for this year’s Morgan Wootten Award continues the Hall of Fame’s goal of honoring excellence in the sport of basketball at all levels,” said John. L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame.  “These coaches have touched the lives of hundreds of basketball players and we are proud to recognize their lifetime achievement at the high school level.”

“Robert Hughes and Rick Insell represent the very finest in high school basketball.  As outstanding teachers, coaches and role models, they have touched the lives of thousands of young people.  I am extremely pleased that I will able to present the Lifetime Achievement Awards to these fine coaches,” said Hall of Fame Class of 2000 member Morgan Wootten.

The Morgan Wootten Award winners were selected by a nationally based committee comprised of Hall of Famers, national high school media members, tournament directors and others that have significantly impacted the game.  The awards will be presented by Morgan Wootten at the 2010 McDonald’s All-American Game events this March in Columbus, Ohio. 

Previous award boys’ basketball award winners have included Jack Curran (Archbishop Molloy, NY), Joe Gallagher (St. John’s College, DC) and Ralph Tasker (Hobbs High School, NM).  Previous winners of the girls’ basketball award have included Leta Andrews (Granbury High School, TX), Jim Smiddy (Bradley Central, TN) and Dorothy Gaters (Chicago Marshall, IL).

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the birthplace of basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.  For more information on these and other upcoming events, please visit our website at www.hoophall.com or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA