« Premiere of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar’s “On The Shoulders of Giants” Postponed | Main | Basketball Hall of Fame Announces 2010 Bob Cousy Award Candidates »

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces 20 Finalists For Bob Cousy Award

List of 73 candidates down to final 20

JANUARY 5, 2010 – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts announced today 20 finalists for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.  This annual award is given to college basketball’s top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic great Bob Cousy.  An original list of 73 candidates made up of players from Division I, II and III schools was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally based committee to the below list of 20. 

“This list makes up college basketball’s elite at the point guard position,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.  “These 20 players in contention for the award all have skills that Mr. Cousy would be proud of.  The Hall of Fame looks forward to having these players compete for one of college basketball’s most prestigious awards.”

“We are so proud at The Hartford to play a part in this important program and offer congratulations to the 20 finalists,” said Kevin Connor, executive vice president and director of Hartford Life Distributors.  “All 20 represent strong values of teamwork, skill and the relentless pursuit of excellence.  These are all values we share at The Hartford.”

The current listing of 20 finalists for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford will be narrowed down to 10 players by February 1st and than further to five players by March 1st.  The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.  These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers.  The winner of the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford will be awarded at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Monday April 5th in Indianapolis as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included: Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas) and Ty Lawson (North Carolina).  For more information on the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford, log onto www.cousyaward.com

Bob Cousy Award Finalists 

Chris Warren, Ole Miss

Denis Clemente, Kansas State

Deonta Vaughn, Cincinnati

Devan Downey, South Carolina

Greivis Vasquez, Maryland

Jeremy Lin, Harvard

Jerome Randle, Cal

John Wall, Kentucky

Jon Scheyer, Duke

Kalin Lucas, Michigan State

Kemba Walker, Connecticut

Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech

Manny Harris, Michigan

Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga

Nic Wise, Arizona

Ronald Moore, Siena

Scottie Reynolds, Villanova

Sherron Collins, Kansas

Talor Battle, Penn State

Trevon Hughes, Wisconsin

About The Hartford:

Celebrating nearly 200 years, The Hartford (NYSE: HIG) is an insurance-based financial services company that serves households, businesses and employees by helping to protect their assets and income from risks, and by managing wealth and retirement needs. A Fortune 500 company, The Hartford is recognized widely for its service expertise and as one of the world’s most ethical companies. More information on the company and its financial performance is available at www.thehartford.com.

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the birthplace of basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.  For more information on these and other upcoming events, please visit our website at www.hoophall.com or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA