« Basketball Hall of Fame Announces 20 Finalists For Bob Cousy Award | Main | The Basketball Hall of Fame is Decked with Fun for Everyone During December Vacation Week »

Basketball Hall of Fame Announces 2010 Bob Cousy Award Candidates

73 Candidates In Contention For Nation’s Top Point Guard

SPRINGFIELD, MA – The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts announced today the candidates for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford Financial Services.  The annual award, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes college basketball’s top point guard.  73 candidates have been nominated for the 2010 award.  Nominations were solicited from all Division I, II and III schools across the country. 

“The Hall of Fame is proud to once again work with Mr. Cousy and The Hartford to present one of college basketball’s most coveted awards,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “This list represents a wide range of college basketball’s top players from all divisions and we look forward to honoring the legacy of Mr. Cousy with this year’s award winner.”

 "We are proud to be a part of a growing tradition at the Basketball Hall of Fame and congratulate this year’s Bob Cousy Award candidates. This award promotes the values of leadership, vision, teamwork and integrity, skills that are not only needed on the basketball court but also in life," said Mike Concannon, executive vice president of sales and distribution at The Hartford. “These values are shared by The Hartford and reflect the high standards set by Mr. Cousy to inspire people on and off the court to achieve what is ahead of them.”

 This original list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 by January 1st, final 10 by February 1st, and final five by March 1st.  A Hall of Fame appointed screening committee will be narrowing down the candidates from 20 to 10 to 5 prior to the Blue Ribbon Selection Committee evaluating the final five candidates and ultimately choosing the winner.  These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers.  The winner of the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford will be presented at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Monday April 5th in Indianapolis as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included: Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas) and Ty Lawson (North Carolina).  For more information on the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford, log onto www.cousyaward.com

Division I

Armon Johnson

University of Nevada

Ashton Gibbs


Ben Uzoh

University of Tulsa

Biko Parris

Boston College

Bobby Maze

University of Tennessee

Brett Harvey

Loyola University - Maryland

Brock Young

East Carolina

Bryan Dougher

Stony Brook University

Chris Warren

Ole Miss

Clifford CJ Reed

Bethune Cookman

Denis Clemente

Kansas State

Deonta Vaughn

University of Cincinnati

Derrick Jasper


Devan Downey

University of South Carolina

DeWayne Reed

Auburn University

Diante Garrett

Iowa State

DiJuan Harris


Jeremy Goode

Mt. St. Mary's University

Jerome Randall


John Wall

University of Kentucky

Jon Scheyer

Duke University

Josh White

North Texas

JT Tiller


Julyan Stone


Kalin Lucas

Michigan State University

Kemba Walker


Kevin Sims

Tulane University

London Warren

University of Dayton

Louis Dale


Mac Hopson

University of Idaho

Malcolm Delaney

Virginia Tech

Manny Harris


Marquis Hall

Lehigh University

Matt Bouldin


Michael Vogler

Troy University

Nic Wise

University of Arizona

Nick Vier

University of Vermont

OJ Avworo

Naval Academy

Ray Penn

Oklahoma State

Robbie Harmann

Central Michigan

Robert Smith

Santa Clara University

Ronald Moore

Siena College

Scott Machado

Iona College

Scottie Reynolds

Villanova University

Sharaud Curry


Sherron Collins


Talor Battle

Penn State

Tony White Jr.

College of Charleston

Tory Jackson

Notre Dame

Trevon Hughes



Division II

Braydon Hobbs

Bellarmine University

Casey Cosgrove


Chris Goutama

Colorado School of Mines

Darren Duncan

Merrimack College

Ed Wilson

Mercy College

Jason Westrol

Bentley University

Khaleef Allicott

Queens College (NY)

Kyle Caiola


Kyle Couvion

Christian Brothers University

Kyle Moore

Tusculum College

Patrick Kuhlman

Belmont Abbey College

Russell Frederick

Philadelphia University

Taylor Witt

St. Cloud State University

Virgil Buensuceso

BYU - Hawaii


Division III

Aaron Williams

Kalamazoo College

Corey McAdam

Nazareth College

Jack Barrett

Wentworth College

John Hoch

Carroll University

Josh Sharlow

St. Lawrence University

Robert Moreno

McMurray University

Sean Wallis

Washington University

Tyler Ledford

Wilmington College

Zach Ashworth

University of Scranton


About The Hartford:

Celebrating nearly 200 years, The Hartford (NYSE: HIG) is an insurance-based financial services company that serves households, businesses and employees by helping to protect their assets and income from risks, and by managing wealth and retirement needs. A Fortune 500 company, The Hartford is recognized widely for its service expertise and as one of the world’s most ethical companies. More information on the company and its financial performance is available at www.thehartford.com.

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame:

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the birthplace of basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.  For more information on these and other upcoming events, please visit our website at www.hoophall.com or call 1-877-4-HOOPLA