Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award is presented annually to the nation's most outstanding NCAA Division I female basketball player who stands 5'8" tall or under and attends an NCAA Division I institution. The Pomeroy Naismith Award is named in honor of basketball inventor Dr. James Naismith's daughter-in-law. A panel of representatives from the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) selects the recipient. To earn the award, the recipient must demonstrate leadership, character, loyalty, all-around basketball ability, and excellence in the classroom.


Any collegiate senior at a four-year NCAA Division I institution who stands 5'8" tall or under.

Past Pomeroy Naismith Award Receipients

2014 - Odyssey Sims, Baylor University

2013 - Alex Bentley, Penn State University

2012 - Tavelyn James, Eastern Michigan University

2011 - Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga University

2010 - Alexis Gray-Lawson, University of California, Berkeley

2009 - Renee Montgomery, University of Connecticut

2008 - Jolene Anderson, University of Wisconsin

2007 - Lindsey Harding, Duke University

2006 - Megan Duffy, University of Notre Dame

2005 - Tan White, Mississippi State University

2004 - Erika Valek, Purdue University

2003 - Kara Lawson, University of Tennessee

2002 - Sheila Lambert, Baylor University

2001 - Niele Ivey, University of Notre Dame

2000 - Helen Darling, Penn State University

1999 - Becky Hammond, Colorado State University

1998 - Angie Arnold, Johns Hopkins University

1997 - Jennifer Howard, North Carolina State University

1996 - Jennifer Rizzotti, University of Connecticut

1995 - Amy Dodrill, Johns Hopkins University

1994 - Nicole Levesque, Wake Forest University

1993 - Dena Evans, University of Virginia

1992 - Rosemary Kosiorek, West Virginia University

1991 - Shanya Evans, Providence College

1990 - Julie Dabrowski, University of New Hampshire

1989 - Paulette Backstrom, Bowling Green State University

1988 - Suzie McConnell, Penn State University

1987 - Rhonda Windham, University of Southern California

1986 - Kamie Etheridge, University of Texas

1985 - Maria Stack, Gonzaga University

1984 - Kim Mulkey, Louisiana Tech University