The Basketball Hall of Fame hosts the annual Tip-Off Tournament each November. The Tip-Off Tournament is an NCAA exempt men's basketball tournament sponsored by the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC). Each year, top teams and conferences will compete in the Basketball Hall of Fame's event showcasing its talents in New England's only exempt Division I college basketball tournament. The original Tip-Off was held in Springfield for more than 25 years. The format has changed, but the name has remained the same.

About the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference

The MAAC, headquartered in Edison, N.J., consists of 10 member institutions: Canisius College, Fairfield University, Iona College, Loyola University Maryland, Manhattan College, Marist College, Niagara University, Rider University, Saint Peter's College and Siena College. For more on the conference, please visit www.maacsports.com.

About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level:  professional, collegiate, men and women. For more information on these and other upcoming events, please visit our website at www.hoophall.com or call 413-781-6500.


2011 Champion — Kentucky (Naismith), Long Island University (Springfield)

2012 Champion — Ohio State (Naismith), Loyola Maryland (Springfield)

2013 Champion — North Carolina (Naismith), Belmont (Springfield)

2014 Champion — Providence (Naismith), Northeastern (Springfield)

2015 Champion — Purdue (Naismith), Buffalo (Springfield)

2016 Champion — Duke (Naismith), Grand Canyon (Springfield)


November 2011

  • Kentucky
  • Penn State
  • Old Dominion
  • South Florida
  • Marist
  • Vermont
  • Radford
  • LIU – Brooklyn

November 2012

  • Ohio State
  • Washington
  • Seton Hall
  • Rhode Island
  • Albany
  • Loyola-MD
  • UMKC
  • Norfolk State

November 2013

  • North Carolina
  • Louisville
  • Richmond
  • Fairfield
  • Belmont
  • Hofstra
  • Hartford
  • Holy Cross

November 2014

  • Providence
  • Notre Dame
  • Massachusetts
  • Florida St.
  • Northeastern
  • Manhattan
  • Binghamton
  • Navy

November 2015

  • Purdue
  • Florida
  • Saint Joseph's
  • Old Dominion
  • Niagara
  • North Carolina A&T
  • Vermont
  • Buffalo

November 2016

  • Duke
  • Rhode Island
  • Cincinnati 
  • Penn St. 
  • Marist
  • Grand Canyon
  • Albany
  • Brown